Photo sharing: Facebook leads Flickr by a long margin


Flickr had been the leading Photo sharing site for quite a while but off late it’s been trumped by Facebook. Flickr adds about 3 million photos every day as opposed to Facebook which adds around 30 million photos every day. Social networks, it seems have come up as preferred locations for sharing photos as opposed to the photo sharing services.

Facebook Photos saw over 153 million uniques in Jan '09, while #2 Flickr saw only 66.7 million

Facebook Photos saw over 153 million uniques in Jan '09, while #2 Flickr saw only 66.7 million

Stan Schroeder of Mashable explains

Flickr has many additional features, and the images can be bigger, but ultimately people use Facebook for the same thing – sharing photos with their friends. Add to that the fact that photo management on Facebook is very elegantly done, with some simple editing options such as rotating and tagging added into the mix, and you’ve got yourself a nice, large photo sharing site for not-too-demanding users – and all your friends are already using it

I’d say it makes perfect sense. You’d like to share those moments with your friends, and they’re already there on social networks… why bother with an additional service… so I guess Youtube is next.

What do you think?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
About Sachendra Yadav

Mobilist and Social Media enthusiast
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photo sharing: Facebook leads Flickr by a long margin

  1. Phil Barrett says:

    facebook has trumped flickr because of usability differences. flickr has limits on what you can upload, it’s harder to find, and fewer of the “masses” are on it.

    With facebook, even my mother can upload an entire album quickly and easily and she doesn’t have limits as to how many.

    Once again user experience trumps technology :)

    Having said that, i doubt facebook will ever take over youtube as the video leader as most people don’t create or search for videos like they take or search for pictures – or at least they don’t today.

    What makes youtube great is that you can find amazing videos from around the world… where as you are only mostly interested in pictures of your friends and family.

  2. Techgutter.com says:

    I go to Flickr to look at amazing photography or download a new wallpaper every now and then, I go to Facebook to see pictures of my friends drunk on the weekend.

    They kinda have different USPs

  3. Well,this is actually great. This makes me feel at home whenever I am away from home. Thanks for sharing. I so miss my Mum, thanks to Fb I always get a glimpse of her smile. More power to you and to your site!

  4. This is my experience. I am an amateur photographer and over the last few years I uploaded quality pictures to Flickr. I never uploaded vacation pictures or family pictures to Flickr. If I had quality pictures from a vacation that would have work as travel photographs I’d upload them but I’d leave out all the snap shots.

    I got a lot of exposure to my photos on Flickr but not many of my friends got to see my photographs. I’d email the Flickr albums every now and again.

    Now I put my photos on Facebook and get interaction and feedback from friends and people in the town where I live, which is great because I focus a lot on scenes of my local area. It’s helped me become popular as photographer in my local area. Flicker never really did that for me.

    What Facebook doesn’t do for me is to create a place where anyone can find photographs by searching. One of my goals with Flickr was to create a place where anyone searching for images of my local town and area could find them on the web. So I still upload to Flickr for this reason.

    I must say I forget about Flickr sometimes because I can upload a photo to Facebook and get immediate feedback and I have a fan page.

    The problem with Facebook is that your content is more or less closed to the outside work. This is the problem overall of Facebook, it’s a closed network that is monopolizing the web. It’s almost like its to the web what the old online services used to be like, AOL and Compuserve, closed communities, you are either in or out.

Leave a Reply

